chipper PTO leaking

Jehinten

So I have owned a woodchuck wc17 for a couple of months now, after a few initial repairs to the feed wheels it's been running great. Yesterday I had it running, about 15 mins before I finished chipping it shut itself off and I noticed a steady stream of oil leaking from the PTO. It looks like used motor oil but the dipstick says that my oil is full. I am no expert with PTOs but I have begun the process of disassembly to diagnose the problem. Has anyone had this happen before? What should I look for? And is there a safety switch that would shut the engine off due to a low fluid?

Its an older woodchuck wc17 with a 4b3 cummins diesel engine. Rockford PTO

For what it's worth the engine will not crank over at this point. There is a solenoid that clicks when I try to start it, not the starter solenoid, but a second one that is mounted on the engine compartment.

Any help would be appreciated. I will be digging into it more tomorrow to find the source of the leak.

Jehinten

Definitely the rear main seal. Shut it down before it causes your clutch to burn out.
I assume you mean that the oil on the clutch will burn it up? It there something I should clean it with before reassembling?

Jehinten

Will do. Thank you.

I will be working on it soon, so hopefully I'll have something to report back in a while

evo

X2 on break/clutch cleaner. When taking the clutch on and off it helps to get some long bolts the same thread and diameter as the mounting bolts. Cut the heads off. Take the top two bolts off (10 o’clock and 2 o’clock) first and install your headless long bolts. Remove the remaining, you will be able to slide the clutch off on the two long headless bolts. Helps a ton.
Hope this is clear, let me know if you have questions

Jehinten

I appreciate the help guys, and yes @evo that is clear. You use the two headless bolts as alignment pins, that's a good idea.