Can you work srt with just a prussik??

Discussion in 'Stationary Rope Technique-Half the rope, twice the' started by chinoakaphil, Mar 25, 2015.

1. chinoakaphil

chinoakaphil New Member

I'm new to srt, but I'm wondering if you can work srt with just a prussik or do you have to have a rope wrench or added friction device while climbing srt?? Can someone advise me please??

2. Levi.CO

Levi.CO Well-Known Member

You need that rope wrench brotha. Prussik binds up real quick, no fun, and dangerous.

TimBr, JakeRiggs and TreeLogic like this.
  3. chinoakaphil

chinoakaphil New Member

Okay, just wondering, thanks Levi

Levi.CO likes this.
  4. TreeLogic

TreeLogic Well-Known Member

What Levi said.

The Wrench shares the friction of descent with the prusik, so that the prusik cord sees half the heat, and the wrench sees the other half. The prusik by itself on a single line would get burned up in hurry. Enjoy your SRTing. :)

Levi.CO likes this.
  5. Worthaug

Worthaug Well-Known Member

You can use two prussiks on two lines...
    Or two prussiks on one line...

TimBr, chinoakaphil and Levi.CO like this.
  6. Levi.CO

Levi.CO Well-Known Member

Cakolaki style;)

Worthaug likes this.
  7. Tom Dunlap

Tom Dunlap Administrator

You could ascend just fine with a prusik or friction hitch. But, descending is problematic.

This is where one of several multi-cenders come in. They go up and down without changeovers.

Have you climbed using a multi-cender?

TheTreeManJason likes this.
  8. rockettree

rockettree Well-Known Member

There was a fella a few years back climbing on 5/8" line with a 1/2" prussik cord. He said it worked well, I've never tried it though.

TimBr and JontreeHI like this.
  9. Worthaug

Worthaug Well-Known Member

Yeah, it was 5/8" Stable Braid... nice and light

10. chinoakaphil

chinoakaphil New Member