Boots!

Hello WOTT! My apologies if this topic has been raised before or if this isn't the right place to ask, I looked through this forum and others and couldn't find a thread. Anyhow: boots! I'm just starting out in the industry and am mystified/overwhelmed by all the options out there. Everyone in my office wears a different style and has different preferences so I get a different answer from everyone, "traditionalists wear loggers, progressives wear hiking boots, these are mountaineering boots" etc. I'm currently using an old pair of combat boots for groundwork, which are great for that but I'm not sure how they're going to do climbing. Also, men's vs women's fit? What do you wear and why?

Also any advice for a total noob is very much appreciated :) I've been working in the horticultural field for seven years and working with young trees for two, but this is my first foray into arboriculture

Meindl airstreams are the go to standard here, love mine, comfortable from the first day to now. Last pretty decently but don't have some of the whizz bang features of some of the other brands but comfort wise, haven't heard of anything better.

Welcome Lumberjackie! I am new to the field as well. I used combat boots on the ground but the soles kinda skated me around in a tree. I had a pair of Chippewa logger boots. . . lasted three months before getting holes in the uppers and they had zero traction in a tree. I recently bought a pair of Asolo Neutrons and love them. Good traction in a tree; comfortable on the ground. Not sure of longevity though.

I have heard good things about the Meindels and will be saving for those next. My crew leader wears Georgia Logger boots and the other crew leader wears Scafell Lites.

ATH