Best SRT rope

I've been climbing on DRT for 5-6 years now and have just decided to expand my horizons and try some SRT. I bought a Rope Wrench and some equipment to be able to use SRT, but now i'm curious what might be the best rope to buy for SRT.

I recently was at the RMC Climbing Competition and found out the my Velocity rope is not allowed for competition use with the rope wrench, which was news to me, but again, i'm just new to this whole SRT stuff.

So i wanted to find out what people use, like, or suggest. Thanks.

I'm not on here very often, as you can see since this is my first post. haha. So i may not answer back right away, but i would like your input. Much appreciated guys. And by the way, i look forward to my first Jambo at the beginning of Sept. Stoked. And if Lawrence Schultz is on here, i plan on buying your Schultz Effect to get me some more knowledge about SRT, just need to free up some space on my computer. And I'm actually backing up my computer as we speak so i can delete some stuff to have room.

Cheers,
Josh

JustinK

I'm new to SRT as well but I'm using the wrench with Cougar and 9.3 Epi and absolutely love how it feels. In all fairness, I've only used the wrench, limitedly, with Lava and Poison Ivy and now cougar and cougar is my favorite.

I mostly use a retrievable canopy anchor.

For every person that like a specific rope you'll find one that has a different preference.

Worthaug

Cougar which is a direct copy of Yale's 11.7's is an excellent choice as well as Yale. Yale's Kernmaster and Teufelberger's Tachyon are nice to work on but too bouncy for ascent. The bounce can be limited by adding a static to the basal leg of the system or by minimizing the amount of rope in the system by canopy anchoring. I love using Escalator as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

colb