Bandit 15XP Review (brand new)

Hi Guys. My name is JC. I am brand new to treebuzz and would like to contribute to this site with a review of my new chipper.

It has the 4.3 gas engine (145 HP) along with the winch and reversing autofeed.

Thanks and enjoy!!

Last edited:
The 15XP was delivered on the Friday before Christmas. About one month later than it was Supposed to be but that is ok. It gave me time to secure a partial loan.

My first impression of this machine was very good (and still is). The paint,fit and finish is excellent. The welds look excellent as well

The sales person went over everything with me including basic operations and maintenance and safety.

Update

I have 12 hours on this machine so far.

Pros
-This thing is a beast. Pulls everything through with ease.
-Air filter stays relatively clean
-Gas engine. Starts in cold weather with no block heating!!
-Very fast recovery time.

Cons
-She’s a gas hog. About 20 gallons used in 6 hours (my last chipper had a tier 2 diesel so I was spoiled with the fuel economy)
-Gas tank is supposed to be 25 gallons but I doubt it is over 20. I Haven’t been able to get more than 18 gallons in it on level ground at dead empty (yes it ran out of gas).
-Engine fan blows away from engine to prevent radiator from clogging. It powerfully blows warm air outward. This could be a problem if the chipper is parked close to shrubbery as it could dry out the foliage (think orange colored arborvitae.;)

Last edited:

Merle Nelson

Welcome to TreeBuzz. thanks for posting your thoughts and experience. I will be interested to hear more as you experience more. I have a Bandit 90XP and an older Bandit 60AW that work great for my primary work of pruning trees etc. However we are having more things come through that will kill large swaths of a given type of tree and I am thinking I will get a bigger chipper here in the future.