193T Help

Hi all, new to the site. I was referred to this site from some people I just met at an arborists show. I am a Stihl dealer and I had a 193t on my table and pretty much every person said that it was a junk saw with no mid range. I've spent the last hour checking out posts and seeing some tips here and there on several types of saw. All very good info since Im a tech as well and i want to have an answer for customers that want a 193 or bought one and looking for it to run. Hope you all can help!!

blsnelling

I found the 193 to be very lack luster as well. I do a mild muffler mod, advance the ignition timing, and properly tune the saw. The difference is amazing for such simple mods. Not only is throttle response and spool up MUCH better, but the power and RPMs held in the cut are much improved as well. It makes a very nice saw with these simple mods.

What kind of muffler mod are we talking? I've seen people take a die grinder to the exit side of the exhaust or change the port them selves. I may have a question on a 026 pro as well.

stang1911

Run about 5 tanks though it and it's like a switch is thrown to make the saw run better. Muffler modded my 193 last month and the difference is amazing.

Birdyman88

Just reviving an older thread. So I posted yesterday about my new Echo 2511T with 12" bar. I was so impressed with it out of the box, that I thought my Stihl 193T with a 14" bar might just get obsoleted and I would need to cough up dough for a 201T with a 16" for the bigger stuff. Honestly, the 193T with a muffler mod and carb adjusted (not in cut mind you) usually gets the job done in the tree, but it does have it's limits, mainly the 14" bar. As my experience grows, I have found myself meeting up with larger wood in the tree. My ideal scenario would be to have the 2511T with 12" as light pruning, and run a 16" bar on the 193T and have a poor man's 201T. But honestly, the 193T was just making it with the 14" bar. So, it's time to advance the timing.